Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for July 2nd, 2010

Hello Guys!

I hope you can use this information!

The comparative form of an adjective is most often used to compare things which differ in some respect. In the following examples, the comparative forms of adjectives are underlined.

  • Louis is younger than Mark.
  • You are a better actor than he is.

The comparative form of an adjective is most often used to compare things which differ in some respect. In the following examples, the comparative forms of adjectives are underlined.

  • Louis is younger than Mark.
  • You are a better actor than he is.

When an adjective ends in a single consonant other than wx or y, following a single stressed vowel, the final consonant is doubled before the ending er is added. For example:

Positive Form Comparative Form
big bigger
hot hotter
sad sadder

Irregular adjectives
A few of the adjectives which are used with endings have irregular comparative forms. The comparative forms of the irregular English adjectives are as follows.

Positive Form Comparative Form
bad worse
far farther or further
good better
little less
many more
much more

Take care!

Yolany Lagos

Read Full Post »

Clementina Suarez´ Poem

Teacher and Guys!

I found a poem from Clementina, I hope you enjoy it as much as I did.

ONE MORE POEM FOR MY MOTHER
tr. by Dave Bonta

Mother:
Scarcely hours after you’d gone,
your house was no longer mine.
Sitting in the doorway,
I looked inside —
pain was beginning to stain everything
and fear signaled me from the darkness.
I walked barefoot, so as not to awaken you
and delay your journey.
I dressed like a child so I could retrace
your steps more quickly.
I threw the years aside
so I could eat bread from your hands,
shivering with cold like a wounded animal.
Ah! I cried — where now can I let my head drop
when it’s weighted down with dreams?

When I was a girl,
I’d seek out your skirt to howl in.
But now death has laid waste
to my greatest lark, my mother country,
my mistress, my madonna.
I don’t have the appetite to eat these apples,
nor do I have any birds to nest in my breast,
I’m an orphan, alone as I can be.
I could go sleep in the streets now
and cry all I want
and no one would come to comfort me.
But perhaps it’s your face that watches me
from within, and keeps my heart
from stopping in the night.

http://www.vianegativa.us/tag/central-america/

Take Care!

Yolany

Read Full Post »